fre_cam_fin3_ap_Website Banners_02-06.png
fre_cam_fin3_ap_Website Banners_02-06.png




"Cameron Leach is a major talent! His performance of my Percussion Concerto was outstanding...full of power and grace!"

- Jennifer Higdon, Composer
Pulitzer Prize and two-time Grammy Award winner

American percussionist Cameron Leach is a bold, high-energy performer recognized for his expressive virtuosity, musical athleticism, and daring interpretations. Leach is the winner of both the Percussive Arts Society International Solo Artist Competition and Yamaha Young Performing Artist Competition, and was awarded the prestigious Performer’s Certificate from the Eastman School of Music.

Recent highlights include a performance in China’s National Centre for the Performing Arts, a European Tour with the World Percussion Group, the debut of his electroacoustic solo show ELISION, and a performance of Jennifer Higdon’s Percussion Concerto with the Eastman Wind Ensemble.

Leach’s upcoming engagements include his concerto debut with the Grammy-nominated Dallas Winds, recital and clinic tours across the United States, the world premiere of Dave Maric’s percussion concerto Spiel, and residencies at Purdue University Fort Wayne, the Space City New Music Festival, and the MalletLab Summer Intensive. Along with his active touring schedule, he regularly performs with the Columbus Symphony Orchestra. Leach is endorsed by Black Swamp Percussion, Beetle Percussion, Sabian Cymbals, and Malletech.

“A true superstar in the making, Leach is one of the most promising percussion soloists of his generation.”

- Dave Maric, Composer


Current News

After a very successful opening to the 2018/2019 season, including trips to China, California, Tennessee, and Kentucky, as well as a short break from performing to learn new repertoire, I’m back at it in just a few days — touring Florida for two weeks and meeting up with Orphic Percussion for some shows in Oklahoma. This tour will see the premiere of David Skidmore’s I Leave You the Real World for solo vibraphone and electronics, leading up to a much-anticipated, late-March premiere of Dave Maric’s Spiel, a percussion concerto for wind ensemble and electronics commissioned for Capital University’s 100th Year Anniversary Gala Concert.

I’ve also been starting several (too many!) commissioning projects for a variety of new works (in varying commissioning formats), including:

  • New marimba solo with electronics by Emmanuel Séjourné (contact me if you’re interested in joining!)

  • New piece for speaking/acting percussionist by Linda Kernohan (individual commission)

  • New piece for speaking/acting percussionist with electronics by Paul Pinto (individual commission)

  • New snare drum solo with electronics by Vera Stanojevic (individual commission)

  • New piece for saxophone quartet and percussion duo, by a composer very versed in writing for both instruments (exclusive invite-only commission)

  • And ANOTHER new percussion concerto in the 2020-2021 season.. details TBD!

Thanks for reading, and before I sign off, here is my most recent video release—Jennifer Higdon's critically acclaimed Percussion Concerto—with none other than the Eastman Wind Ensemble! As usual, I owe you all the biggest THANK YOU for all of your support!

- February 1, 2019